Miville

Miville

About

Born in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region, Miville (actual name Jennifer Tremblay), was raised in Québec City and studied in stage design at the Québec Conservatoire d’art dramatique. She is also a renowned costume designer in TV and theatre productions. She has worked on Quebec series such as 30 vies, Ruptures, District 31, Les invisibles, Maison bleue… She has also collaborated with several theatre companies, including La Licorne, Espace Go, Denise-Pelletier, Théatre d’Aujourd’hui, Périscope, La Bordée and Le Trident. However, Miville has been attracted to plastics arts from a very early age and she has increasingly integrated this discipline to her professional life. At the age of 39, she has already held many exhibitions in Montreal and the United-States.

Approach

“I simply adore the deconstruction of lines and a kind of abstract sobriety. A sensitive line permeated by light”. -MIVILLE

 

Gestural abstraction or portrait, Miville’s works are inspired by action painting: an expressionist movement that involves vigorous application methods on the canvas. Without completely covering the bare canvas, her body is totally invested, and her movements have a quasi-meditative violence. Miville’s outlines shape out and fragment the body, they oppose rationality to realism. Her approach is intuitive, electric and liberating.

 

The artist previously explores possibilities with living models in her studio, mainly interested in a rapid succession of poses and movements. The sensitive line of her studies come to life, spontaneous and simplified. She reaches for what is essential. The chosen sketch will them serve as an inspiration for a painting. Miville calls upon a myriad of pigments to invent her own rich and unique colours.

 

Her light and shadow compositions create a depth were forms emerge.

 

“Embracing abstract automatism and expressionism, Miville is the inheritor of Marcel Barbeau’s searing intensity and of Franz Kline’s and Antoni Tàpies’ plastic and spiritual approaches”. – Éric Clément, LA PRESSE

 

“Miville has a great sense of movement, esthetics and composition. – Malgosia Bajkowska, curator, SALON B

 

“Miville’s paintings show a subtle roughness, an incredible refinement – I was about to say affection – for what is seemingly, at first glance, a release of emotions. It’s both gentle and violent”. -Mathieu Laca, PAINTER

Social medias

Social medias

Miville

Miville

Présentation

Née dans le Bas-du-Fleuve, Miville (de son vrai nom Jennifer Tremblay), qui a grandi et étudié en scénographie au Conservatoire d’art dramatique à Québec, est aussi une créatrice de costumes réputée dans le milieu de la télévision et du théâtre. Elle a travaillé sur les séries 30 vies, Ruptures, District 31, Les invisibles, Maison bleue… Elle a collaboré avec les théâtres La Licorne, Espace Go, Denise-Pelletier, d’Aujourd’hui, Périscope, La Bordée et Le Trident. Toutefois, les arts plastiques animent Miville depuis ses plus jeunes années et prennent une place grandissante dans sa vie professionnelle. À 39 ans, elle a à son actif quelques expos à Montréal et aux États-Unis.

Démarche

“J’adore la déconstruction de la ligne et une sorte de sobriété abstraite. Une ligne sensible où s’insère de la lumière.” -MIVILLE

 

Abstraction gestuelle ou portrait, le travail de Miville s’inspire, au niveau de l’exécution, du mouvement expressionnisme abstrait: l’action painting. Sans couvrir totalement la toile brute, l’investissement du corps est total lorsqu’elle peint et le mouvement d’une violence quasi méditative. Les traits de Miville découpent le corps et le fragmentent, elle s’oppose à la rationalité et au réalisme. Sa démarche est à la fois intuitive, chargée et libératrice.

 

L’artiste explore préalablement en atelier de modèles vivants, elle s’intéresse principalement aux poses très rapides, en mouvement. La ligne sensible de ses études est alors vivante, spontanée, simplifiée. Elle va droit à l’essentiel. Une esquisse choisie servira ensuite d’inspiration pour un tableau. Miville invente ses propres couleurs, riches et uniques, d’après pigments.

 

Ses compositions d’ombre et de lumière créent une profondeur d’où les formes émergent.

 

“Embrassant l’automatisme et l’expressionnisme abstrait, Miville a hérité de la fulgurance d’un Marcel Barbeau et des approches plastiques et spirituelles de Franz Kline et d’Antoni Tàpies.  » -Éric Clément, LA PRESSE

 

“Miville a un bon sens du mouvement et de l’esthétisme comme de la composition.” -commissaire Malgosia Bajkowska, SALON B

 

« Il y a dans les toiles de Miville une brutalité subtile, un incroyable raffinement – j’allais dire une tendresse -dans ce qui paraît d’abord être un défoulement . C’est doux et violent à la fois” -Mathieu Laca, PEINTRE

L’artiste sur les réseaux

L’artiste sur les réseaux